Multiple if else problem in output in Logstash

Hi Team,

I am new to elastic search and logstash so i have one basic small query, Hope i will get quick reply here

I am trying to apply multiple if else in my logstash but i am failed to do it , Here's the example

output {

if [fields][log_type] == "Promotions" {

if "##ERROR CODE" in [message] {
elasticsearch {

hosts => "localhost:9200"
manage_template => false
index => "elkrft-ind-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}" 
action => "update"
document_id => "%{Correlation_Id}"
doc_as_upsert => true
}

}
else{
elasticsearch {
manage_template => false
action => "update"
document_id => "%{PromotionID}"
doc_as_upsert => true
}
}

stdout { codec => rubydebug }
}
}

else part is working fine and data is getting updated in case of promotionID but when it comes to if part my data against correlation id is not getting updated but it get's inserted ,

Hope to get a quick reply. Thanks

If I undestand this correctly, the part that's not working is

elasticsearch {
			}
		}

If so, that is probably the syntax is a bit misleading. By default the message is the preset field that holds the entire log, so unless you overwrite it that how it stays till the end.

Thing is, if "something" in [message] checks for a literal match, not a regex of any kind, so

will work if the message is "##ERROR CODE", but will fail if the message is "##ERROR CODE foo"

You probably want the regex operator for that, like

if [message] =~ /##ERROR CODE/ {
			elasticsearch {
			}
		}

Check the conditionals guide for more information

Edit: As it was pointed out to me by @Badger, the in clause apparently supports substring matching (if the conditional order is value -> field, but not field -> value).
Also, the issue is apparently quite unrelated to what I said above since the document is initially inserted as you said (but I'll keep the post up). Do you get any relevant errors in Logstash?

1 Like