Node failed to join

Hi

I am relatively new to elasticsearch. I installed elasticsearch oss 7.7.0 a couple of days ago on two Ubuntu 18.04.3. I want to form a test cluster with 2 nodes - one master and ingest and the other only data. I configured both the nodes. Then, I restarted the service and the cluster does not seem to be forming. The cluster-name.log file indicates a bad request.

test_odex2 is master, ingest node
test_odex1 is data node

[2020-07-01T15:06:26,560][INFO ][o.e.c.c.JoinHelper       ] [test_odex1] failed to join {test_odex2}{Y1FOygToRmKfWeClxqKcjQ}{qiJUWOiKQ0mkQHy3CL1L9g}{master-ip}{master-ip:9300}{imr} with JoinRequest{sourceNode={test_odex1}{lIigyxrETCO-QX7Oyae2_A}{-gn3_rGDRySwb1Uec9LIgg}{data-node-ip}{data-node-ip:9300}{dr}, minimumTerm=5, optionalJoin=Optional[Join{term=5, lastAcceptedTerm=2, lastAcceptedVersion=15, sourceNode={test_odex1}{lIigyxrETCO-QX7Oyae2_A}{-gn3_rGDRySwb1Uec9LIgg}{data-node-ip}{data-node-ip:9300}{dr}, targetNode={test_odex2}{Y1FOygToRmKfWeClxqKcjQ}{qiJUWOiKQ0mkQHy3CL1L9g}{master-ip}{master-ip:9300}{imr}}]}
org.elasticsearch.transport.RemoteTransportException: [test_odex2][master-ip:9300][internal:cluster/coordination/join]
Caused by: java.lang.IllegalStateException: failure when sending a validation request to node
        at org.elasticsearch.cluster.coordination.Coordinator$2.onFailure(Coordinator.java:514) ~[elasticsearch-7.7.0.jar:7.7.0]
        at org.elasticsearch.action.ActionListenerResponseHandler.handleException(ActionListenerResponseHandler.java:59) ~[elasticsearch-7.7.0.jar:7.7.0]
        at org.elasticsearch.transport.TransportService$ContextRestoreResponseHandler.handleException(TransportService.java:1139) ~[elasticsearch-7.7.0.jar:7.7.0]
        at org.elasticsearch.transport.InboundHandler.lambda$handleException$2(InboundHandler.java:244) ~[elasticsearch-7.7.0.jar:7.7.0]