Optimizing single-node search performance

Hello all,

I am relatively new to Elasticsearch, and am currently trying to optimize a single-node ES instance. I am trying to understand a concept, which seems to have conflicting information.
First of all, the data I am working with is around 130 Gb of documents (~230 million docs), currently distributed over 5 shards. It resides on a single node running on a machine with the following specs:

1. 2x Intel Xeon E5-2680 v3, 48 threads total.
  2. RAM 256 GB total
  3. Enough SATA3 HDD 7200 RPM storage

The cluster usage would be very search-heavy with aggregations, with indexing happening infrequently to not at all. Also, data availability is not a concern at the moment. Now I mainly have a question regarding how primary shards make use of parallelism within one machine. From what I understood, multiple primary shards allow for a single query to be run in parallel on multiple shards using multiple threads. However, an Opster article stated that:

``When queries are run across different shards in parallel, they execute faster than an index composed of a single shard, but only if each shard is located on a different node and there are sufficient nodes in the cluster.''

This confused me a since it would imply that having more than one primary shard for a single index on a single node would not speed up search performance, even though multiple threads could be used to search the shards. I can imagine that it could have to do with some I/O bottleneck, but to me, it seems like having a single shard with 130 Gb of data would not be ideal.
So my question is whether having multiple shards on a single node could decrease search latency.

Also, any insight into what to look out for when optimizing search performance would be greatly appreciated. E.g. would it make sense to run a multi-node deployment on the same machine?

Sorry for the wall of text, and thank you for your time!