Pipe syslog into Redis

Hello,

I am just starting out with ELK and have a question that I can't seem to find an answer to. This is my first post, so I hope this is the right spot to ask. I've looked at the Logstash Book by James Turnbull and searched here and Google but I am still unable to find the answer to, How do I get syslog messages into Redis?

In the Logstash book, it explains how to add the syslog input to the Logstash central.conf file but from my understanding that's not going through Redis. Is this correct? Wouldn't you want syslog messages to go through a broker instead of directly to the Logstash Indexer? If not, what's the best practice method for handling syslog messages?

One of my goals with this project is to get our Cisco devices or any other device that has to use syslog to ship messages to the Logstash Indexer. Maybe Redis is not the route to go but most of my research suggests that there be some sort of broker (Redis, RabbitMQ, Kafka) in between the shipper and Indexer.

Any help or suggestions on this topic will be much appreciated. Thanks for your time.

A Logstash pipeline consists of one or more inputs, one or more outputs, and optionally one or more filters. You have one input (the syslog) one so now you need to add a redis output to get the behavior you want.

Magnus, thanks for the reply.

Just so I am clear. Are you suggesting I configure the Logstash Indexer config file to input syslog and then output to Redis?
Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of having Redis? I could be wrong, as I am just starting out but I would think the desired behavior would be to have all Shipper messages buffered through Redis before getting to the Logstash Indexer.

I'm suggesting that you have one Logstash instance to receive syslog messages and send them to Redis and one instance to read from Redis and do whatever it is that you want to do with your log messages.