Potential memory leak using tcp input?

Hello, we are using logstash to collect sflow. We use fluentd at the ingest point, which forwards flows to logstash to do some processing and push to the elastic cloud. These both reside on the same box and largely work great together (fluentd/logstash).

We noticed on one of our higher volume flow boxes that logstash appears to be leaking memory, with items piling up within logstash and slowly consuming the entire heap.

We were first able to see this within VisualVM, with the heap size slowly growing over a few days to the point of it causing OOM errors. We added more memory to jvm.options and to the host but saw the same behavior.

This led us to pull a heap dump and explore it within Eclipse MAT, as the elastic documentation suggests. I'm by no means an expert in either java or it's heap dumps, but I believe we have found something interesting and I'm not positive on how to interpret this or how to fix it, I was hoping somebody on this forum could assist.

This is our input segment which we believe is causing this:

input {
  tcp {
    host => "127.0.0.1"
    port => "8888"
    ecs_compatibility => "disabled"
    codec => "fluent"
  }
}

We see the same result if using the fluent codec or not, fwiw.

We see a LARGE number of items being stored which are "errorinfo: org.jrubyStandarderror" and "Decode_buffer bytes not available":

The truncated items are:

usr.share.logstash.vendor.bundle.jruby.$3_dot_1_dot_0.gems.logstash_minus_input_minus_tcp_minus_6_dot_4_dot_1_minus_java.lib.logstash.inputs.tcp.decoder_impl.decode() (/usr/share/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/3.1.0/gems/logstash-input-tcp-6.4.1-java/lib/logstash/inputs/tcp/decoder_impl.rb:23)
usr.share.logstash.vendor.bundle.jruby.$3_dot_1_dot_0.gems.logstash_minus_input_minus_tcp_minus_6_dot_4_dot_1_minus_java.lib.logstash.inputs.tcp.decode_buffer() (/usr/share/logstash/vendor/bundle/jruby/3.1.0/gems/logstash-input-tcp-6.4.1-java/lib/logstash/inputs/tcp.rb:219)