Problem searching Filebeat netflow module logs

I'm really sorry if this isn't the right tag for this, I'm just not sure where to start.

I recently installed Filebeat, enabled the netflow module and pointed my Edgerouter X to my machine running the Elastic stack. I'm getting logs but I'm having trouble searching. Some searches work while others (IP addresses) don't. For example, here's an event that contains Nuremberg:

If I search for Nuremberg I get results like one would expect:

Now if I search for an IP address in that same event (207.180.192.206) I don't get anything returned:

destination.ip is searchable:

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Can anyone help me out? Thanks

Im not an expert but have you tried

destination.ip: "207.180.192.206"

Absolutely that works. Using that logic though, to get the destination.geo.city_name as I did in the screenshot I'd have to specify that field and the city name: destination.geo.city_name:"Nuremberg" but I don't. I can simply search Nuremberg.

It's something to do with integers, I'm sure. Anything with a number fails to return results, unless specifically specifying field and exact terms as you mentioned. This isn't the case in my Winlogbeat index. I can put in any IP and return results. Screenshot taken moments ago.

This is why I'm thinking there's some config issue with Filebeat but I'm really struggling to find out what the problem is.

1 Like

Hi @Sylancer

1st I don't think you have a config issue.

2nd the proper KQL Syntax for both your searches are

destination.geo.city_name: "Nuremberg"

destination.ip: "207.180.192.206"

Those should always work as expected (you can skip the rest if that is all you need)

Why just putting in Nuremberg works is a little more nuanced.

destination.geo.city_name is of type keyword