Proper YAML Configuration of ElasticSearch

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to ElasticSearch and am looking for the proper way to
configure it to create my index and my index settings instead of relying on
the application to do it using the ES API.

Is there any documentation or any snippits someone could point me at to:

1. Configure the Index Data Mappings and Create the Index

final CreateIndexRequestBuilder builder = this.getCreateIndexRequestBuilder
();

// create a mapping for a geocoordinatefinal Map<String, Object> source = new HashMap<String, Object>();final Map<String, Object> properties = new HashMap<String, Object>();final Map<String, Object> mapping = new HashMap<String, Object>();source.put("properties", properties);mapping.put("type", "geo_point");mapping.put("lat_lon", Boolean.TRUE);for (final String field : geoCoordinateFields) {

properties.put(field, mapping);

}builder.addMapping(this.documentType, source);// build the responsefinal CreateIndexResponse createResponse = builder.execute().get();if (createResponse.acknowledged()) {

DefaultSearchServiceImpl.LOGGER.info("Successfully created the index: {}", this.index);

} else {

DefaultSearchServiceImpl.LOGGER.error("Failed to create the index: {}", this.index);

}return createResponse.acknowledged();

1. Handle Configuring the Lucene Analyzer
    final IndicesAdminClient indexService = this.searchService.admin().indices
    ();

final CreateIndexRequestBuilder createRequest = indexService.prepareCreate(this.index);// set the default analyzersfinal ImmutableSettings.Builder indexerSettings = ImmutableSettings.settingsBuilder();indexerSettings.put("analysis.analyzer.events.type", "custom");indexerSettings.put("analysis.analyzer.events.tokenizer", "standard");indexerSettings.put("analysis.analyzer.events.filter", "snowball, standard, lowercase");createRequest.setSettings(indexerSettings);return createRequest;

1. What is the difference between the index name & index id? What is each of those used for?