Query Return: Matching Children AND Matching Parents without Matching Children

I'm an ES beginner, but longtime programmer. I'm currently planning a feature and needed some community advice.

Our current NON-ES data structure looks like this:

people: [
    {
        _id: "1"
        name: "James Bond"
        hair: "BLOND",
        actual_id: "1"
    },
    {
        _id: "2"
        name: "007",
        actual_id: "1" // this is the parent marker in our data
    },
    {
        _id: "3"
        name: "Jane Doe",
        actual_id: "3"
    },
    {
        _id: "4"
        name: "Babe Ruth",
        hair: "BROWN",
        actual_id: "4"
    },
]

We need to create a search which from this filter:

hair must equal BLOND

will only return matching children, or parents who match, and do not have matching children

[
    // this is a matching child, so its parent (_id:1) will not be returned
    {
        returned
        actual_id: "1" // this is a the parent marker in our data
    },
    // this parent has no matching children, AND hair is blond, so it will be returned
    {
        actual_id: "3"
    }
    // babe ruth (_id:4)  has BROWN hair so he is NOT returned
]

Can this be accomplished with the parent/child relationship in ES or should we plan additional data juggling on our side?

Can this be accomplished with the parent/child relationship in ES

May be. But I'd not try to overcomplicate my model.

or should we plan additional data juggling on our side?

Yes. If you can simplify things on your side, you will get back the best from elasticsearch.

Denormalizing data is better.

Thanks Dadoonet.

Do you think my scenario would be easier with 2 indexs? One of children and one of parents. Then:
first do a query on children index
then do a query on parent index, removing any of the actual_id's from the first call?