Rally and Httperf

I'm new to rally, I used to use httperf, I have some questions hope I can get an answer here.

1. In httperf we can set concurrent connections, does Rally also support that?

• If yes,How many concurrent Connection by default for each operation and where can I set it?
  2. I do see we can set up clients in schedule, does one client means one node in elasticsearch cluster?

3. I have two existing ES cluster and I would like test performances between these two clusters, I assume "pipeline-benchmark only " is the right option, however is there anyway Rally can help get CPU usage, Disk IO during testing?

Does these two testings can run in parallel? Because I always get race tun error;

Thanks

Eric

Hello @jlwysf,

Some replies below (caveat: I am also currently learning Rally):

No, client is an Elasticsearch client (they are actually implemented using the elasticsearch-python client).
When you increase the clients, e.g. for a bulk operation, you will see more python3 processes getting spawned.

The following links in docs and discuss replies (1, 2, 3) have more detail.

You should take a look at adjusting clients, as mentioned earlier and running tasks in parallel.

The documentation provides some examples and the amount of clients can be decided by Rally or be specified.

Rally has internal telemetry devices through which it stores a number of very useful metric keys, documented here. Among these metrics, you will a find a number of cpu utilization and disk_io related ones. See also this discuss reply.

Dimitris

Hi Dimitris,

Thanks for replying me. I still confused about my second and last question and I haven't saw an answer,

• Regarding my second question, if "client" is the concurrent session you referred to, how many thread are related in one client, how can I know? Does one client is one process? If we only have one client , is that mean we only execute one concurrent session?

Regarding my last question,