Reading encrypted Avro records, do I need a new codec?

Previously we have read from Kafka topics containing Avro records using the avro codec and Avro records using Confluent Schema Registry using the avro_schema_registry codec.

Now, we have encrypted Kafka messages. Our encryption process encrypts the raw bytes of the message, not the content inside of the Avro records. This means to get to the data you need to first decrypt the bytes before deserializing. (I hope this makes sense, basically the process is data -> avro bytes -> encrypted bytes meaning that the Kafka message is not a valid Avro record until it's decrypted.)

I see that Logstash has a Cipher filter, I'm wondering if I can use this somehow or if I need to make a new codec? I'm new to Logstash so I'm not certain.

The Kafka plugin is an input and the cipher plugin is a filter (and filters work on input) -- the Avro codec is part of the input plugin, because of that it makes me think we can't use the cipher filter plugin to decrypt the bytes before it comes to the Avro codec, but I may be wrong. Is there a way?

I think we have two options:

• modify or replace the avro codec; OR
  • chain together filters (and write one of our own) to do the work of a codec

codec option:

The existing avro codec:

1. receives a single base64-encoded string
  2. decodes that string into raw bytes
  3. uses the avro gem to convert those bytes to a ruby Hash
  4. creates the Logstash Event

From what I can tell, we're looking to inject a new step between #1 and #2 that decrypts cipherbytes into plainbytes. That way we can do all of the decoding in the codec and emit events that are fully-contextualised from the get-go.

This will require modifications to the avro codec, but we could easily support a pipeline config that looked like this:

input {
  kafka {
    codec => avro {
      decrypt => {
        algorithm => "AES-256"
        key => "$KEY_FROM_SECRETSTORE"
      }
    }
  }
}

filters option: