Release resources when Metricbeat stops

Hi,

I'm new in go and metricbeat. I want write a metricbeat module which collects data from an Oracle database. Unfortunately I found no function (or way) to cleanup my connection when metricbeat will be stopped.

I also looked at the mysql module. But unfortunately I can't find anything in this code where the connection will be closed.

Is there a way I can do that? A shutdown hook, override a method or function or something else ...

Best Regards

If a MetricSet implements Closer then Close() will be called when the MetricSet is stopped.

Closer is an optional interface that a MetricSet can implement in order to cleanup any resources it has open at shutdown.

Thank you for the advice. I have tried to implement the following:

// Closer is an optional interface that a MetricSet can implement in order to
// cleanup any resources it has open at shutdown.
func (m *MetricSet) Close() error {
    logp.Info("*********************** cleanup stuff ******************")
    return nil
}

Then I build the beat and run it with the command below:

./oraclebeat -e -d "*" -N

After some time I cancel the beat with Ctrl + C.

Unfortunately I'm not able to find the log entry in the output.

Have you any hint for me or an idea what is going wrong?

Regards

@mguggi Could you share a link to the repo (if possible)? That would it make easier to see what the error could be as the full code is visible.

After upgrading from metricbeat 5.6.5 to 6.0.1 it works as expected. I haven't spent much time to analyze the root cause.

Maybe it's a bug maybe I have done something wrong. However I haven't changed the implementation of the Close method.

@ruflin The example code is shared on github: oraclebeat

Thanks for your hints ...

I think the Closer feature was only added to 6.0+.