Rollover doesn't actually roll in the Python Elasticseach API

It's my first time trying to create a rollover and I've read a bunch of posts with similar topics but nothing quite answers mine.

from elasticsearch import Elasticsearch, helpers

es = Elasticsearch([{'host': 'localhost', 'port': 9200}])

es.indices.delete(index='myind-000001', ignore=[400, 404])

my_idx_settings = {
    "template": "myind*", 
    "settings": {"index" : {
        "number_of_shards" : 3, "number_of_replicas": 1}},
    "aliases": {"myind_write": {}},
    "mappings": {
            'mytype': {
            "properties": {
                "vs": {
                    "type": "nested",
                    "properties": {
                        "par": {"type": "keyword"},
                        "value": {"type": "float"}
                    }
                },
                "timestamp": {
                    "type": "date",
                    "format": "yyyy-MM-dd'T'HH:mm:ss"
                    }
            }
        }
    }
}

es.indices.put_template("bm_temp", my_idx_settings)

es.indices.create(index = 'myind-000001')  
#es.indices.put_mapping(index='myind-000001', doc_type='mytype', body=mymap) # don't need this. 

es.indices.put_alias(index=['myind-000001'], name = 'myind_write' )
roll_body = '{"conditions": {"max_docs":  5}}'
es.indices.rollover(alias=alias, body=roll_body)

data = []

for i in range(1,42):
    obj = {}
    obj['_type'] = 'mytype'
    obj['vs'] = [{'par': 'HR', 'val': i}]
    obj['_index'] = 'myind-000001'
    data.append(obj)

data = iter(data)

helpers.bulk(es, data)

This code works except that everything gets ingested into the original index and no rolling takes place.
What am I doing wrong?

Thank you!

The rollover operation checks if the rollover condition is met. Only off this is the case will it initiate a rollover. As it looks like you are inserting data after the rollover operation, the condition is not met when you run the operation.