S3 as intermediate stage in Elastic stack pipeline

Hi Folks,

Thanks to all for creating the Elastic stack (ELK) - it enables small businesses like my own to have visibility of security events and performance data that is too costly or inflexible with proprietary tools.

I have been using ELK stack since 2013 and am changing the way that we consume and process events, namely for our events to better survive changes to index templates / ES version changes / grok pattern problems I am want to send all events to Amazon S3 as an intermediate stage before they end up in Elasticsearch.

For example : Filebeat => Logtash => S3 => Logtash (filters, etc) => Elasticsearch

Some thoughts / questions:

1. Is this a valid architecture? My aim is to be able to work with my events in a more flexible way (i.e: change mappings more easily, work with smaller or larger data sets more easily) by simply importing portions of data and indexing them from S3
  2. Where should filtering happen? on the first logstash instance or the second? Is the intermediate S3 stage going to have negative effects on my grok patterns or mappings?
  3. I currently have some events that make it through to elasticsearch if I send them directly but silently get dropped if I send them to S3 first. They are using a grok filter.

Any help or advice is much appreciated...see my configs below:

s3-logstash-es.conf
filebeat-logstash-s3.conf

1 Like

Is this a valid architecture?

I wouldn't call it invalid but certainly atypical. Any particular reason you want to use S3 for the intermediate storage? This sort of buffering is usually implemented with a message broker.

Where should filtering happen? on the first logstash instance or the second? Is the intermediate S3 stage going to have negative effects on my grok patterns or mappings?