Scoring Function Scalability - v1.7.3

Hi all,

I've tried a few times to write a scoring function that scales into millions/billions of documents. At the moment, they don't even scale in the millions realm.

The latest one was a simple scoring script that looked something like this:

if(doc[param_field].value == null){
    return 0;
} else {
    BigInteger left = new BigInteger(doc[param_field].value, 16);
    BigInteger right = new BigInteger(param_hash, 16);
    return 400 - left.xor(right).bitCount();
}

This might seem a little bit naive as a script (I'm kinda new to this), but as you can see: It's essentially trying to calculate the hamming distance between a given parameter and a document field, and then score appropriately.

The "400" bit gives you some idea as to how long these fields are expected to be (not very long, remembering that this a bit count).

At the moment this takes far too long to run (~4s) on a document set of 17k. In my experience with my previous attempt at a scoring script (that one was calculating euclidean distance), the execution time gets larger as the document base grows.

My question is really around the scalability of scoring function scripts.

• How can I write one that scales?
  • Why is mine so slow?
  • Should I expect it to be slow?

If anyone could point me towards any resources advising on scoring script optimisation etc that would be great!

Thanks for any help!

You can compile scripts and have them loaded in a jar, but most scripts are
cached anyways. What is param_hash?

Ivan

Thanks, Ivan. That is true for v 2, but not for v1.7.3 unfortunately. At least, it doesn't have it in the docs for my version.

I could upgrade, but I want to be sure it'll be worth it.

To answer your question, param_hash is a hex encoded binary string, much like my param_field value. The strings are actually phashes or dhashes of images (the docs in the es index represent images), and in comparing hamming distance I'm comparing image similarity.