Search result grouping by N fields

I am a total newbie so forgive me if this is answered in the latest documentation and I just haven't seen it.

Is there native (configurable) support for search result grouping by N user selected fields? I have an index with 100 million docs and roughly 200 fields. I'd like to run a search (even a "get all" search) with a field set I choose (say up to 20) and get a unique result set "grouped" by the field set I chose at runtime. I expect high cardinality. I also require user defined sorts and some basic stats with each unique result (count and sum(field).

I've read that the latest Solr can support this but only up to a max of N=4.
Thanks!

Perhaps you could provide a simple example to clarify your expectation.

Sure. So the index has 200 fields and 100M docs. The user wants to browse the data to look for patterns based on some key fields they expect to be relevant. So they run a search like q=* and choose a field list of A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, and J, and a sort of B ascending. The user expects the results to be grouped by those 10 fields, meaning the docs are rolled up where there are exact value matches for the 10 fields. The user can see a count of how many docs are in each group, and the sum of a number field X.

Count, Sum, A, B, C, ... (headers)
10, 45.678, Jim, 10 Main Street, 1/1/2016, ... (there are 10 docs in the index that have the same values for the 10 fields requested)
35, 34545.56, Jane, 11 Main Street, 2/3/2015, ...

This is possible in ES using the scripting support of the Terms Aggregation. E.g. the user selects the fields they are interested in, that list is passed to the terms agg as a script, and the script extracts the each of the field values for aggregating.

The downside to this approach is that it'll be slower, since the script won't be able to use certain internal optimizations. But it'll do the job.