Sending an unfiltered copy

OK, I'm relatively new to Logstash; we're looking at it as a possible replacement for what we're using now. I've been tasked with setting it up in such a way that it redirects the data along to our current system and also sends a copy to elasticsearch so we can "play with it" without losing the data in our current system before we decide to fully commit. I thought it'd be easy enough to list an output first before the filter, but that doesn't work since Logstash groups the inputs/filters/outputs together. I tried separating into two pipelines, but it seems the filter in the one pipeline still affects the other. Using the "clone" tag won't work unless there's a way to remove the cloned type for one output; ideally the packets sent to our current solution will appear to be the same as they used to be, with the exception of coming from a different host of course. Any solutions that I'm missing, or should I turn to some third party product to duplicate the traffic before it gets to Logstash?

Or to perhaps look at this differently, why did the pipelines crossover? Having one make the copy, use a file for an output, then having the other use that file for an input seemed like it would work until the "just copy" pipeline was being filtered too....

I don't understand why you need to duplicate anything. A single Logstash pipeline with two outputs should do. Unless conditionals are used all outputs receive all events.

I tried separating into two pipelines, but it seems the filter in the one pipeline still affects the other.

Then you probably weren't using two pipelines but just split your single-pipeline configuration in two files.

Using the "clone" tag won't work unless there's a way to remove the cloned type for one output;

You can use conditionals to route different events to different outputs.