Slow Data loading to elasticsearch

Hi,

I am new to Elasticsearch. I am trying to create a reporting application with Elastic search as Data Store. I get Input files, try and index it into ES via Logstash, and search / filter in ES for report output. The Issue I'm facing is, the data loading is very slow. (10k docs per minute where as in some tutorials i saw 20k apache docs per second) Obviosly im missing something here and kindly help me catch up and make the processing faster.

My system is of 8 GB RAM and 4 core processor. JVM Heap configured to 2GB for both Logstash & ES. The input file contains 30 Mil docs (Pipe seperated) and of 3.5 GB file size.Data is getting loaded to default 5 shards. It uses 4 workers(Got it with the use of metrics). The Logstash config is like the below one.

input {
      file {
        path => "D:/aaa/sample.txt"
        type => "test"
        start_position => "beginning"
    	sincedb_path => "D:/aaa/bbb/null"    
      }
    }
    filter {
      csv {
          separator => "|"
          columns => ["1","2","3","4","5","6","7","8","9"]
      }
    }
    output {
    	elasticsearch {
            action => "index"
            hosts => [ "localhost:9200" ]
            index => "sampleindex"
        }
        stdout {codec => dots}
    }

What might be an ideal way to improve performance? I'm thinking of loading the above said file with 30 Mil records in few minutes (10 to 15).

Thanks in Advance,
Gowtham

Lots of potential things you could do, but before trying anything else remove the:

stdout {codec => dots}

and retry. stdout has always been a bottleneck for me.

1 Like

The speed improved to 12,000 docs per minute from 10,000 docs per minute. Not that much of an impact by removing stdout. Is there any other major thing I'm missing out here ?