Stop Filbeat service if no LS/ES connection after some time?

Hi All,

I'm new to this discussion webpage but have been using the ELK stack for a fair amount of time now, and this page been a great help for me.

I was recently looking into the full config yml file for Filebeat and didn't see a specific config to shut down the Filebeat service itself, if it can't connect to ES or LS after few tries or if been trying for a long time.

The reason for my question is that we are trying to make certain beats a part of a platform load; and in some networks we may have no connection back to our cluster. Our concern is whether there will be any networking issues/flooding by constantly trying to connect to logstash…etc.

I just would like to know if there is already something to handle such thing or do I need to script something to take care of that. I know there isfilebeat.shutdown_timeout, but not sure if applies to my scenario.

I appreciate your response and thank you in advance.

there is no option in beats to shut down if the remote is not reachable. Instead beats do use exponential backoff on retry, starting with one second sleep, then 2, 4, 8, 16, 32 up to 60 seconds. Unfortunately these settings are not configurable yet.

When do you plan to restart filebeat? How do you detect Logstash becoming available?

Thank you for your response !

We are mainly concerned that once filebeat becomes part of our os load and gets deployed somewhere where our ES/LS cluster is not reachable for any reason. So, in that case restarting flebeat wont be necessary unless we have a connection being available later, which in that case will restart filebeat manually.