Surprising behaviour when escaping reserved char in query string [1.3.4]

Trivial document, default (i.e. dynamic) mapping/analyzer.

PUT example/doc/1
{"s":">hello"}

Tokenization discards the >, but it's a reserved character, so you'd expect a naive unescaped querystring containing it to have problems:

GET example/_search
{"query":{"query_string":{"query":"(s:(>hello))"}}}

And it does, sort of; no errors, but no hits either. "query":"(s:(%hello))" does match the doc, and % isn't reserved, so the reserved-ness of > definitely seems to be the reason.

Where it gets weird is that "(s:(\\>hello))", i.e. one JSON-escaped backslash followed by >, doesn't match the doc either. "(s:(\\\\>hello))", which looks like it ought to be an Lucene-escaped backslash followed by an unescaped >, does match. So do "(s:(\\\\\\>hello))", "(s:(\\\\\\\\>hello))" and so ad infinitum.

Can anyone make any sense of this? As a newbie I've been banging my head against it without result, and colleagues with much more ES experience are similarly stumped.

Very weird, but I don't have an answer! It does it on 1.7.2 as well.
Let me ask one of the core team for some of their thoughts.

Thanks! Very relieved to hear it's not just me.

One additional piece of info: if I double-quote the query term instead of parenthesising it, it matches regardless of escaping. That is, "s:\">hello\"", "s:\"\\>hello\"", "s:\"\\\\>hello\"" etc all match. (Obviously this changes the meaning of the query if it contains multiple tokens, so it's not really a workaround.)

Hi,

notice that

GET example/_validate/query?explain
{"query":{"query_string":{"query":"(s:(>hello))"}}}

gives the lucene query explanation

"s:{hello TO *]"

and shows that the > is a shorthand notation for an unbounded range query that excludes the first element. This maybe explains why that query doesn't return the document. If you use % like in "(s:(%hello))", this gets simply deleted and the result is a normal term query that matches the doc.