Threshold rule can't group by with source.ip but only with source.ip.keyword

My problem consists in defining a threshold rule in the group by field. I can only enter source.ip.keyword and not source.ip.

The consequence of this is that the rule fails every time with the following error:

Bulk Indexing of signals failed: Could not dynamically add mapping for field [source.ip.keyword]. Existing mapping for [source.ip] must be of type object but found [ip]. name: "Prova Nmap detection" id: "8c5e9c50-522d-11ed-895f-390c31d94eb0" rule id: "1fd6fcc8-e7aa-44c9-be7f-5bd699014236" signals index: ".siem-signals-default"

Please help me, I am a begginer student

Hi @Simone_Calo :wave: and welcome to the forum!

It looks like the issue is caused by incorrect mappings of your source events.

Indices that contain source events for a given rule are determined by the Index patterns field. In your case, mappings of these indices seem to contain a source.ip.keyword field (which I'd assume has a keyword type) while Elastic Security expects to see there a standard ECS field source.ip of type ip.

What happens when this rule executes, is the rule copies many fields like source.* from a source document to the alert that is generated based on this source document, and then tries to index the alert into a separate .alerts-security.alerts-<space-id> index. The alerts index has its own strict mappings where it is expected that source.ip is a field of type ip according to ECS.

Elastic Security requires source data to be ECS-compliant to work correctly: Elastic Security system requirements | Elastic Security Solution [8.5] | Elastic

Let me know if this helps!

okay, thanks a lot. So what should I do to solve the problem?

Maybe here instead of filebeat I have to insert packetbeat (the only component I'm using)?

So what should I do to solve the problem?

It depends. Are you running a production cluster or just learning/testing the app locally or in Cloud?