Timeout executing grok

I have a quite long regex to pars my log message. But it drops with Timeout executing grok . Does have any mechanisms to speed up regex work? Also I have a multiple regexs and if one is failed does it other works ?

Have you tried to adjust the timeout setting?

I thought about that. But I have 1M logs and I guess it will be ending in my next life

Perhaps share a few log lines and the groks... Maybe we can help tune,

Or sometimes breaking down a line with dissect first then grok the rest can help.

Or grok a part of it with the rest in GREEDYDATA (or not see below) then use one of the fields from the first grok as an identifier for more specific groks...

I.e Break it down with iterations.

Just a thought.

I'm not a regex expert though.

I suggest you read this blog. Anchor your patterns. Avoid using GREEDYDATA (try DATA, in delimited fields use custom patterns such as (?<someField>[^,]*), if a field ends with a comma). If you can show an example event and your patterns we can probably be more specific.

1 Like

Yep. It's my filter block

filter {
  if 'django' in [tags] {
    grok {
      match => {
        "message" => '(?m)%{LOGLEVEL:log-level} %{TIMESTAMP_ISO8601:timestamp}.*User- (?<user>[^;]+).*id - (?<user-id>[^;]+).*email - (?<email>[^;]+).*Agent-(?<useragent>[^;]+).*Request: \"(?<request>[^\s^\"]+).*Method: \"(?<method>[\w]+).*Module: (?<module>[^;]+).*Function: (?<func>[^;]+)' # backend.info.log
      }
    }
  } else {
    grok {
        ### other simple regexs ###
    }
  }

date {
      match => ["timestamp", "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss,SSS", "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss", "yyyy-MM-dd HH:mm:ss.SSS", "ISO8601"]
      timezone => "Europe/Moscow"
  }
} 

I have a lot of django logs. They have different types, legacy too. Legacy logs should not pass this regex but they call timeout error. And I don't know how long correct log passes this regex :slight_smile:

It's legacy log:

INFO 2019-08-24 11:52:56,619