Transaction table breakdown granularity

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to Elastic APM, I am currently trying to instrument a great banking application (javascript).

In the transaction table I get many URLs of the type POST http: //<server IP>/method summarized in a single line POST /? .

What can I do to get better granularity in the breakdown of the transaction table?

Thank you very much,

Javier

Hey @Javier_Aracil
Welcome to the Community.

Can you check what you see in the Metadata tab? Is there a more useful request name available for you?
I guess you are using the RUM agent right?
The data you see highly depends on the JS Framework you are using. Thatswhy we need to check that first.

Hi Felix,

Thanks, we actually see the transactions in the Metadata tab

No, not RUM, actually the nodejs agent

Framework is hapi.

Thanks a lot for your help,

Javier

Perhaps this can do the trick?
Thanks

Yes thats the why I was asking

Hi Felix, it didn´t work, any idea? Thanks

Javier

Hello @Javier_Aracil, it's nice to meet you.

Two things.

First -- you mentioned you're using hapi. When you use hapi with the Node.js agent we'll automatically name the transaction based on the route naming pattern/path. If you can share that, and share the version of hapi that you're using, we'll be better able to diagnose why all your transactions end up with the same POST /? name.

Second -- we know that sometimes the default naming of a transaction doesn't meet everyone's needs. Because of that, the agent has an API method that allows you to name a transaction. The apm.setTransactionName(...) method should allow you to name your own transactions with whatever names you like -- just call this method at the start of your hapi route handling method.