UDP input plugin monitoring and elasticsearch output

Hello Logstash GURUS, so I have a logstash running live and basically the guy who set it up quit his job :frowning: Since I am totally new to this and have a system running live already that I need to take care of some help would be much appreciated :slight_smile:

1. Basically my question is how do you guys monitor UDP input plugin queue? I tried using Node stats API but all I got was:

"plugins": {

"inputs": [],

and where I guess the info about the queue should be:

"queue": {

"type": "memory"

}

UDP input plugin documentation says that the monitoring is active by default and I don't have it disabled in the config so what gives? Is it because the queue type should be persistent to see any relevant info? But why inputs info is empty too? I get other info about filters and such just fine.

1. I am having some problems with my storage even tho I have M.2 SSD's so I am trying to optimize the process at least a little bit and I am wondering how the UDP input and elasticsearch output works. I input around 1 KB UDP packet which contains lets say about 1 000 events which I parse upon input. It filters everything and then elasticsearch outputs it right away with the 1 000 events or the input process keeps on going until the output reaches 20 MB and then logstash does the output in bulk no matter if the total size of one UDP packet parsing is around 4 KB? That part to me is unclear by the documentation. Is it queue -> input -> filter -> output or queue -> input -> filter -> buffer -> input -> filter -> buffer until the buffer reaches 20 MB?

Hi! Sorry to hear you got thrown feet first into the fire.

First, it doesn't look like you have any inputs running if that's what's going on in the node stats API. Are you sure the LS instance you're hitting is running the config you think it's running?