UK Post Code to geo data in Logstash?

I'm looking for a way to add Geo location data to documents based on UK post code (no IP data, address data only).

I've searched but have been unable to find any results and have to admit that I am not a developer so am not sure what approach to take.

It looks like the postcodes.io api would provide the info I require: -
http://postcodes.io/docs

Am running latest versions of Elasticsearch (2.2), Logstash (2.2) and Kibana (4.4) as of today.

If anybody has post code to geo mapping working then some guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks

If you can obtain a full dump of the data you could store it in a local file and use the translate filter to map your postcodes to a geolocation. If you really need to make the API lookups you'll probably have to write a custom plugin. It should cache the results to not slam the API endpoint with too many requests. I don't know about a general REST lookup plugin that would do this for you.

Thanks @magnusbaeck.

I've obtained a dump of the data and can convert to required format but am struggling to get the translate filter to read the dictionary file. To test I have created a small file: -

PO11AA:50.799149,-1.0884009
PO11AN:50.799961,-1.079573
PO11AQ:50.799167,-1.0908128

and am using Logstash filter: -

translate {
                            dictionary_path => "/etc/logstash/POLatLong.yaml"
                            field => "hl7PostCode"
                            destination => "[geoip][location]"
                    }

but get error: -
" LogStash::Filters::Translate: Bad Syntax in dictionary file /etc/logstash/POLatLong.yaml"

I've tried placing double quotes around each side of the : but with no luck. I'm sure it's a simple one but any pointers?

Thanks,

Lee

Scratch that - just found another post and spotted that I needed a space after the ": " field delimiter in the .yaml file.

Have added that and now working OK.

Thanks for your assistance @magnusbaeck

Hi all,