Unable to create package for new beat based on metribeat

Hello,
I am trying to create a new beat based on metricbeat. I have followed the instructions and am able to build and debug my new beat. All works as expected.

However, when I try to create a package using "make package" as is instructed in the developer docs, the process hangs. The only error generated during the process is related to kibana, however the message says the step is being ignored.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

kenrowland,

Do you mean mage package ? I don't think we have a package make role.

If so, can you re-run it with the debug flag:

mage -debug package

It might also be worth updating your vendor directory:

# Pull down the latest version of elastic/beats into your gopath, then in your custom beat directory, run this
rm -r vendor/
make copy-vendor

Alex,
Thank you for the reply. This is my first attempt to create a beat based on metricbeat. In attempting to create the package, as is stated in the documentation, I actually ran the command "make release", not "make package" as is stated in my original post. I am sorry for the confusion. To be clear, when I run "make release" the process hangs.

Any help is appreciated as I expect to need to create 3-4 additional beats for our open source cluster project. The project is HPCCSystems should you be interested. It is a big data platform for both crunching and delivering data.

Ah, so it turns out that make release is just an alias for mage package.

A few things:

• If you run mage update does that operation complete?

• You can use the PLATFORMS variable to only build for certain platforms. Depending on where we're stuck, this might speed things up. Example: export PLATFORMS=linux

• What "type" of custom beat is this? It's possible for users to specify --type=beat and --type=metricbeat when they create a beat. If you don't remember, just run this in your beat directory and send me the output: grep -A 5 setup Makefile