Upgrading


(Nik Everett) #1

I have a question about upgrading: should you turn off shard reallocation
before shutting down each server?

I was reading somewhere (but can't find where) that shutting down a node in
the cluster reassigns all the shards immediately and then bringing the node
back up causes another flurry of reassignments. This is the behaviour I
see.

If I turn off shard reallocation before shutting down the server, upgrade,
restart, then turn on shard reallocation, then I see the shards basically
snap back to their old server and the whole process seems to proceed much
more quickly.

So, is this how I should do a rolling upgrade? If so, should I work on
building such a thing into the deb package, shutdown api, or something else?

Nik

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Martijn Van Groningen) #2

During an upgrade I would also disable automatic shard allocation during an
upgrade in order to prevent behaviour that you're describing. I don't know
much about deb packages, but if that automates that process (disable before
upgrade and enable after) I think that would be a good idea.

On 18 September 2013 21:12, Nikolas Everett nik9000@gmail.com wrote:

I have a question about upgrading: should you turn off shard reallocation
before shutting down each server?

I was reading somewhere (but can't find where) that shutting down a node
in the cluster reassigns all the shards immediately and then bringing the
node back up causes another flurry of reassignments. This is the behaviour
I see.

If I turn off shard reallocation before shutting down the server, upgrade,
restart, then turn on shard reallocation, then I see the shards basically
snap back to their old server and the whole process seems to proceed much
more quickly.

So, is this how I should do a rolling upgrade? If so, should I work on
building such a thing into the deb package, shutdown api, or something else?

Nik

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.

--
Met vriendelijke groet,

Martijn van Groningen

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(system) #3