Using Elastic search is an option or not?

Hi,

I am new to Elastic Search and was considering to use it. I have some doubts and would appreciate if someone can please help me with them.

A brief introduction of my problem statement:

I have to store and analyse a huge amount of collected data and generate reports/charts to determine different trends/frequency of usage for certain data etc.
Frequency of incoming data is high and over a period of time, the stored data will grow huge. In my understanding, Elastic Search allows aggregations at search time which may cause the report generation to be slow if the amount of data is very large (historical data). We want an alternative to this search time aggregation (Stored aggregations like in a data warehouse) in Elastic Search which in the log run (with historical data) will not slow down the search. Is it possible with Elastic Search to achieve this or using a data warehouse is a better approach in this case?

Any thoughts will be helpful. Thanks in advance.

How slow it is? Did you test it?

How much data are looking to collect and analyse? Huge is a very subjective term, and does not really tell us much.

I have not tested it as of now as right now, I am in the phase of choosing either Elastic Search or a data ware-house whichever will best suit my needs. Just an example, maybe I get 1000 entries from 270 data sources each day. After say, 10 years we will have a considerable amount of data. When I make my search on this amount of data (this is growing day by day), will Elastic Search do justice to the report generation(quick results as it will do search aggregation on such big data) or should I consider Data ware-house for my problem?

Elasticsearch is designed to scale horizontally with increasing invest or total data volume. It is common for even small clusters to ingest hundreds of GB per day, so the volumes you are describing sounds quite small from an Elasticsearch perspective.

1 Like