Using logstash for parsing logs

Hello,

I am new to ELK, I have installed Logstash, Elastic search and Kibana. My use case is as below:
Logstash will read the application log, parse it and send to Elastic Search. Can you please suggest whether I need to write in the application log in a specific way, such that this is readable by Logstash? Also, since Logstash parses the log to make appropriate indexes for Elastic Search, how will Logstash get the tags against which it will parse and create indexes for Elastic search?

Also, I am looking for some documentation for a clustered deployment of ELK.

Regards,
Chinmoy Das

Logstash will read the application log, parse it and send to Elastic Search. Can you please suggest whether I need to write in the application log in a specific way, such that this is readable by Logstash?

No, but logs can be more or less easy to parse. For example, multiline logs are annoying to parse while logs in JSON format are very easy.

Also, since Logstash parses the log to make appropriate indexes for Elastic Search, how will Logstash get the tags against which it will parse and create indexes for Elastic search?

Not sure I understand exactly what you mean, but it's up to you to configure Logstash to parse the log correctly.

Also, I am looking for some documentation for a clustered deployment of ELK.

Elasticsearch is naturally clustered and Kibana is stateless except for the pieces that are stored in an Elasticsearch index so it's Logstash you need to focus on. Logastash instances are (currently) unaware of each other so there are a couple of options. I run Logstash on all ES nodes and use DNS-based load balancing to distribute traffic and drain traffic if a node is unavailable. Buffering messages with a message broker like Redis, RabbitMQ, or Kafka is also common. Then all Logstash instances can pull from the same queue.