Windows 10 Install error

Hi,

When I run elasticsearch.bat I get the following error: Could not find or load main class org.elasticsearch.bootstrap.Elasticsearch

Thanks
Fraser

How did you install elasticsearch?
What did you download?

Hi,

Thanks for your response.

I downloaded the zip file from the elastic.co website. I extracted the zip file. I then tried to run the elasticsearch.bat file in bin directory, as it suggests in the Install directions on the elastic website. I am running the .bat file from the command line. This when I am getting the error. I am an admin on the box.

I have also installed Curl and it doesn't think elastic is running. I also looked at Services that were running and didn't see Elastic.

I also set environment variables PATH to include elasticsearch and JAVA_HOME.

Thanks for your help with these elementary questions. I did try and look around to see if this had been covered. I may have missed it though.

Fraser

Sorry, installed elasticsearch-2.1.1

Thanks

Fraser

Can you copy Elasticsearch to \whatever dir and not under a dir which has spaces in it? In case it helps...

Thanks for the reply. I will copy it to another directory and retry. I don't believe my current one has spaces in it but it does have periods and a hyphen.

Fraser

Hi,

I moved ElasticSearch to C:\ElasticSearch and ran the .bat file and got the same error message as before.

Thanks

Fraser

Hi,

I believe that I have solved the issue. I wiped out the version of Elasticsearch that I downloaded and re-downloaded it. I quickly noticed differences in the file structure of the downloaded version. First time around, the bin directory was underneath the config directory. I thought it was odd at the time. This time, of course, bin is on the same level as config. I would guess that my ultra-sensitive mouse combined with a fat-finger move on my part, accidentally moved the bin directory under the config directory and so the install couldn't find what it was looking for.