A few general questions about Elasticsearch

I've been curious about a few aspects of Elasticsearch I was hoping I could get some answers to:

1. What is the best way to deal with queries that bring down the entire cluster by causing Elasticsearch to run out of memory? I have a cluster of three master-eligible nodes and it goes down for this reason sometimes. Is this a reason to have a dedicated master node?

2. The docs for Elasticsearch talk about the benefits of clustering, but they only mention it solving the problem of when a node goes offline for some reason. However, I've had my cluster go down pretty much just from running out of memory. Because the cluster distributes the queries to each node, the whole thing goes down instead of just one or two nodes. So does the clustering benefit only apply to other types of issues?

3. Are there benefits to a distributed architecture other than providing a solution for if a node goes down? I know it lets you scale horizontally as well, but does it allow better performance in some ways too?

4. When my cluster goes down from running out of memory, I have been SSHing into each node and restarting the service. That works fine, but I'm wondering if there is a better way. It would be nice to do that all at once.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

What are your queries? Are you getting OOM in the logs, can you share the log? What version are you on? What heap size? Java version, OS? What are you using for monitoring things?

They were fairly large queries. One, for example, was for an aggregation of unique terms with a cardinality of about 1.3 million. I had previously broken it up using partitions and had my client code cycle through them and do the math later, but it would be nice to just have it given all at once.