Accidently started second instance resulting in duplicate node folders


(Luk Morbee) #1

Hi,

We have a cluster of 2 nodes each with their own volume. On one of the
nodes we accidentally started a second instance which resulted in duplicate
node folders (0 & 1). The instance pointing to the nodes/0 folder was
stopped. So the current instance is pointing to the nodes/1 folder.

How do we rectify this?

Would the following work?

  •  Stop the node
    
  •  Delete the nodes/0 folder
    
  •  Rename the nodes/1 folder to nodes/0
    
  •  Start the node again
    

Or are we better off stopping the node, remove all its content, and start
it up again so that it syncs from scratch with the second node?

Thx

Luk Morbee

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/CAFfMV4PZ13%2Bg7t2ToztQuE8KRagnN-DKRhDAXtjUhpTBzwztgA%40mail.gmail.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Jaguar) #2

Hi,
Allowing multiple directories in nodes/ by design. From my experience,
you could stop the additional instance when the cluster state is green. But
before doing that, you should make sure the instances are actually in a
same cluster, and find out the correct process, which is using nodes/1 in
your case. If you stop a wrong process, you will find yourself some data
missing next time you restart the cluster. The data isn't missing, just
in different nodes/x directory.

Cheers!
在 2013-12-11 下午6:36,"Luk Morbee" luk.morbee@gmail.com写道:

Hi,

We have a cluster of 2 nodes each with their own volume. On one of the
nodes we accidentally started a second instance which resulted in duplicate
node folders (0 & 1). The instance pointing to the nodes/0 folder was
stopped. So the current instance is pointing to the nodes/1 folder.

How do we rectify this?

Would the following work?

  •  Stop the node
    
  •  Delete the nodes/0 folder
    
  •  Rename the nodes/1 folder to nodes/0
    
  •  Start the node again
    

Or are we better off stopping the node, remove all its content, and start
it up again so that it syncs from scratch with the second node?

Thx

Luk Morbee

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups
"elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an
email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit
https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/CAFfMV4PZ13%2Bg7t2ToztQuE8KRagnN-DKRhDAXtjUhpTBzwztgA%40mail.gmail.com
.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/CAP0hgQ1fQzJTnkeye3LyV8PoJGBZ9KMBA7Rtxkp8QANkk9po3A%40mail.gmail.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Anantha Govindarajan) #3

Setting node.max_local_storage_nodes: 1 in elasticsearch.yml will help to
resolve this problem

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/cfaba942-a6ba-4ef0-99e5-15382d98d951%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(Luk Morbee) #4

Thank you all for the feedback.
Setting node.max_local_storage_nodes to 1 was what we were looking for.

On Wednesday, December 11, 2013 11:36:11 AM UTC+1, Luk Morbee wrote:

Hi,

We have a cluster of 2 nodes each with their own volume. On one of the
nodes we accidentally started a second instance which resulted in duplicate
node folders (0 & 1). The instance pointing to the nodes/0 folder was
stopped. So the current instance is pointing to the nodes/1 folder.

How do we rectify this?

Would the following work?

  •  Stop the node
    
  •  Delete the nodes/0 folder
    
  •  Rename the nodes/1 folder to nodes/0
    
  •  Start the node again
    

Or are we better off stopping the node, remove all its content, and start
it up again so that it syncs from scratch with the second node?

Thx

Luk Morbee

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "elasticsearch" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to elasticsearch+unsubscribe@googlegroups.com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/elasticsearch/76305332-5b46-41ba-aae7-60d8e051592d%40googlegroups.com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/groups/opt_out.


(system) #5