Adding/configuring available visualization fields

All,

I am new to ELK and have been reading and watching docs and videos for the last week. I have everything (Elasticsearch, Logstash, Kibana, filebeat) installed and have a dev apache server sending access and error logs --> logstash --> Elasticsearch. I have watched a couple kibana visualization videos but in my environment I don't have nearly as many Field -> strings available as in the videos (sorry if I'm mis-naming these 'objects' as I'm still learning). I am assuming I need to define/configure additional strings but do not know how to do so.

Here is my filebeat.yml:

filebeat:
prospectors:
-
paths:
- /var/www/logs/access_log

input_type: log
  document_type: apache
- 
  paths:
    - /var/www/logs/error_log
  include_lines: ["error"]

registry_file: /var/lib/filebeat/registry

output:

logstash:
hosts: ["logstash:5044"]
index: dev-apache

logging:

to_files: true

files:
path: /var/log
name: filebeat
rotateeverybytes: 10485760 # = 10MB
keepfiles: 7

level: info

Here is my logstash beats.conf:

input {
beats {
port => 5044
}
}

filter {

grok {
match => { "message" => "%{COMBINEDAPACHELOG}" }
}

date {
match => [ "timestamp" , "dd/MMM/yyyy:HH:mm:ss Z" ]
}

mutate {
convert => ["response", "integer"]
convert => ["bytes", "integer"]
convert => ["responsetime", "float"]
}

useragent {
source => "agent"
}

}

output {

elasticsearch {
hosts => "localhost:9200"
manage_template => false
index => "%{[@metadata][beat]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
document_type => "%{[@metadata][type]}"
}

}

Ideally what I am interested in are http responses (400's, 500's) and errors but I am still trying to get up to speed on the whole process.

Any guidance or direction on how to allow for more choices for visualizations is greatly appreciated.

TIA,

Herb

Lets start by figuring out what indices are being created in Elasticsearch. For this can you call the GET http://localhost:9200/_cat/indices API and paste the response here?