Avoid too many useless field on elastic search - kibana

Hi,

I am pretty new to this but, I have setup a elastic stack for starting a log centralization.

I have just tested with Nginx log and syslog.
My problem is the number of fields created (and many of them are useless and conflicting), even if I use the Nginx module of Logstash. I have 41 fields for my Nginx log since only 5 fields would be enough for mapping all the data.

If I'm not wrong, this is gonna take more disk space that we need.

I was thinking modules will be my solution but apparently they are not. the only solution would be to implement grok filter for each type of log ?

If you know you only need a limited set of fields then map them using an index template and turn off dynamic mapping.

Thank you for you response.

If I go this way, I will need to create an index for each type of log right ? I read that creating too many index can decrease performance, I thinks I gonna have about 15 different type of logs (taking in consideration that it will be organised by date, so typically one per day for syslog and stored for 2 weeks) , do you thinks It will be a problem (we gonna reach maybe 2000 index) ?

I do not run elasticsearch, I used to run it a couple of years ago. There are a lot of folks who know vastly more than me about elasticsearch performance. That said...

Increasing the number of indexes does impact performance. (I think it is actually the number of shards more than the number of indexes.) Whether the performance impact is too much is something only you can answer. To do that you have run performance tests with different configurations and see whether the performance meets your needs.

Years ago there were performance issues with sparse indexes (indexes that have many fields mapped, but few fields on each document). This was fixed in Elasticsearch 6.0 by upgrading to Lucene 7.0, so it is no longer a problem.