Beats: Pure go packet sniffer - Final Year Project

@steffens @Nicolas_Ruflin
Hi everyone,

I'm a Golang programmer, and a final year Computer Science student at the Federal University of Technology, Akure, Nigeria.

I would like to work on Beats for my Final Year project, specifically the Pure go packet sniffer. This was listed as a project idea for GSoC 2019, but Elastic was not accepted so I guess the project can be handled outside of GSoC.

I would like to know if the scope of the proposed Golang implementation is supposed to match that of libpcap, or if we only need to implement some of the features. I'd also like to understand the motivation behind the idea, and possible challenges I will face during implementation.

I would also like to create a tracking issue on Github, where we can be able to discuss implementation details.

Thanks.

There is indeed some overlap with libpcap, but the project idea is not meant as a go-native replacement for all libpcap.

The idea of the project is to concentrate on implementing a platform independent go native packet sniffing library only. With support for multiple backends/implementations. Yet we're not required to provide all implementations from day 0.
The drawbacks we're currently seeing with go-packet and libpcap are:

• based on CGO, Therefor CGO function calling overhead for every single package
  • additional copies
  • not really possible to work with multiple receive queues (NIC RSS)

Therefore it would be nice to have a package with common interfaces/definitions, that ease the integration with sniffing methods that support zero copy, and multiple receive queues/workers for parallelizing actual packet processing. Yet allow applications to be written on top of these interfaces, in independence of the actual integration to be used.

Rescheduling packets in software takes some extra performance hit, which might effect throughput in bad ways. Therefore it is mandatory to make use of hardware backed receive queues.