Benchmarking using ESRally

Hey there,
I'm new to ESRally and I would appreciate some assistance in running esrally with ES running on a remote server.

The set-up:
There is a remote server which I connect to it via ssh.. it has a single elasticsearch pod running in it. So I have the ip address of the server and even that of pod. The elasticsearch in the pod already has some indices and data in it. Due to some reasons Im not able to install esrally on that server..
So how can i connect to the server and connect to the pod and run create-track command from my local machine so that I can get a custom track and then run some benchmarking on the ES running in a pod. If there are some tutorials or hands-on about this then please point it out I will follow that.

Thank you.

Hello,

Would the offline install (Installation - Rally 2.7.1 documentation) work for you? Or is there a way to copy the data somewhere an install of Rally could reach it?

The last option could be to set up an SSH tunnel (What is an SSH Tunnel & SSH Tunneling?) which I think could work. But we cannot help you directly with that, sorry.

Thanks @Quentic_Pradet for the reply.
So if I install esrally offline on the remote server. Should I have to install esrally in the pods also to carry out benchmarking since the Elasticsearch is running inside pods ?

Hi Dershan,

No, you don't need to install esrally inside the pods. You can use --pipeline=benchmark-only option to benchmark existing K8s cluster. The only requirement is esrally needs to be able to connect to TCP/9200 or any other port where Elasticsearch running in the pod is exposed. See here for more details: Tips and Tricks - Rally 2.7.1 documentation .

Please note testing an existing cluster may affect other traffic in this cluster, so it's not recommended to benchmark a production cluster unless you know what you're doing :slight_smile:

Kind regards.

1 Like