Best practice for managing many log formats with data streams

Apologies if this is a redundant topic of conversation; I feel I've searched far and wide and can't find a clear answer. And, if it isn't obvious, I'm new to the Elastic ecosystem.

I have many different log formats that need to be ingested into data stream(s) via Logstash. Different log formats are distinguished by their log.file.path value. The reason I am hesitant to use one big data stream for all of them is that the amount and names of fields vary wildly between different formats, and I read somewhere that it's considered bad practice to have a large number of fields.
I have a working Logstash configuration that specifies a different data stream based on the logfile path, but also read that it's considered bad practice to have a bunch of 'small' (low document count) data streams. So, at this point, I'm unsure what is considered the "correct" way to proceed. Do I:

• Route all logs (with varying formats) to the same data stream, or
  • separate the data streams based on the format of the logs within them, and tune the index template?

Furthermore, if I am to use the same data stream, is there some kind of ILM magic I can use to route documents to different backing indices based on their log.file.path value (in order to separate index templates by log format)?

What sizes are we talking about?
For some people "small" means a MB for others it means several GB.

• How many nodes are in your cluster?
  • How much memory do they have?
  • How many different data sources do you have?
  • How big do you expect each one to be?

The answer is most likely to be:

separate the data streams based on the format of the logs within them, and tune the index template

But if we're talking about a thousand data streams, each with only a dozen documents, then the answer will change.

Thanks for your response.