Best practices for indexing log data

Hi, I'm new to the Elastic/ELK stack and am using it for log aggregation/analysis. Basically, the classic use case of using Filebeat to ship log files to Logstash and output the data to Elasticsearch.

My main problem is trying to understand: What are the best practices for indexing a wide variety of log files? I have no problems in the n=1 case where I have only one log type of log file on one server. But, how should indexes and data be structured for a wide variety of log types? Does it make sense for say, apache logs a Spring app's logs to be stored in different indexes? What about, say, apache logs from different departments or environments (test vs prod) - use the same index or a different one?

According to this Elastic blog post, "Multiple types in the same index really shouldn't be used all that often." This gives me the impression that we should be splitting our indexes based on log type, where the fields are mostly the same, e.g. apache-YYYY.MM.dd, syslog-YYYY.MM.dd, spring_app1-YYYY.MM.dd, etc.

Yet, a lot of the examples I see posted (including from the official Logstash documentation ) seem to run contrary to that advice. I often see this logstash config:
output {
elasticsearch {
index => "%{[@metadata][beat]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
document_type => "%{[@metadata][type]}"
}
}
The result is that an index of filebeat-YYYY.MM.dd is created for all log types, but the type field is set to the log type (apache, syslog, etc). Is this really a good practice? I would think that the index should be based on the document_type like this:
index => "%{[@metadata][type]}-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"

Any advice is much appreciated!

1 Like

Whether different types of data should be sharing an index or not often comes down to the mapping and whether these can coexist and have the same retention period. It also depends on the data volumes you are expecting.