Best practices for testing against clusters on ECE

Hello,

We intend to test the ingest and query performance of clusters hosted on ECE by using Rally. So far, the elastic/logs track looks interesting. I studied this video and pdf on Rally testing pitfalls by the Rally author Daniel Mitterdorfer. The last topic in there stresses the importance of repeating your test many (>30) times, in order to be able to base conclusions on the results.

That triggers these questions:

1. How to get your to-be-tested cluster on ECE in the same initial state before each test run, so to be able to compare apples-to-apples? I guess you will need to delete and re-create your cluster each time and then optionally load a snapshot with the initial test data. Delete+create cluster and load snapshot could be done via the respective API, allowing automated repeated testing.

2. How does ECE itself behave: will it have the same performance after deleting and creating a cluster say 100 times? Or will there be a build-up of discarded data? We use ECE version 3.3.0 (I realize this post covers both Rally and ECE functionality).

Best practices in general on using Rally against ECE-hosted clusters are very welcome too.

Thanks!
Jan Stap

Hi Jan,

Thank you for your post.

1. How to get your to-be-tested cluster on ECE in the same initial state before each test run, so to be able to compare apples-to-apples? I guess you will need to delete and re-create your cluster each time and then optionally load a snapshot with the initial test data.

We recommend benchmarking to a new cluster with each benchmark run. It is how the ES nightly benchmarks are done.

1. How does ECE itself behave: will it have the same performance after deleting and creating a cluster say 100 times? Or will there be a build-up of discarded data? We use ECE version 3.3.0 (I realize this post covers both Rally and ECE functionality).