Best way to form a cluster

Hi there, i'm new to ELK and also read lot of documentations from elastic.co
I've tested many combinations to form a cluster and wondering can't find the best way to form it:
1-Creating the 1st Node (that is also a cluster) and adding the extra nodes with the 1st node' token?
2-Configuringe all the nodes and joining them together with *.yml file correctly filled ?
I notices that when the elasticsearch.service is started the 1st time it is a considered as a single node cluster so i'm a bit confused. Can somenone help me to sart a fresh ELK lab with 4 nodes ? like:
Node1: master only
Node2: master eligible /data / ingest / transform / remote client
Node3: master eligible / data / ingest / transform / remote client
Node4: master voting only / machine learnig / kibana
Any suggestion woud be appreciated. Thanks.
Fred.

Which version of the Elastic Stack are you using? 8.x builds clusters very well using the enrollment token process (that is, start the first node and then enroll the other nodes before starting them).

1 Like

Thanks Bob, i'm using 8.4 version of ELK.
What do i need to configure in elasticsearch.yml for each node before enrolling them to the cluster ?
Thanks for your time.
Fred.

There's not a lot that must be done in 8.x. I've had good luck with the following sequence (developed on 8.1 - I haven't run them on later . revs):

1. Install ES 8.x on the first node
  2. If needed set firewall exceptions for 9200 and 9300
  3. Configure elasticsearch.yml with the desired cluster name and node name. I've usually configured network.host and localhost to the node's IP address.
  4. Start Elasticsearch on the first node and check status
  5. Install ES 8.x on the second node
  6. If needed set firewall exceptions
  7. Generate the enrollment token on the first node
  8. Copy the enrollment token from the first node to the second and use it in the elasticsearch-reconfigure-node command