Can I force ES 7+ to use bundled JDK instead of the one in JAVA_HOME?

Hi,

is it possible to force ES to use the bundled JDK instead of the one pointed by JAVA_HOME?
In some environments, elder version of JAVA is already installed and used by other applications, and customers may refuse to upgrade it centrally because of ES.
(Windows / Installed as a service by msi)

thanks,
Tamas

2 Likes

Disclaimer: I am no windows expert, so feel free to fully ignore my advice. Under other operating systems, unsetting JAVA_HOME would work, and checking the scripts under the bin directory in Elasticsearch the behaviour for windows seems to be the same.

In Windows, the elasticsearch.exe is started as a service, but it seems that it does not call elasticsearch-env.bat during this, that would set up the paths. It seems to always prefer JAVA_HOME coming from the process user, that is LocalSystem by default. And this is the problem, because in this case, I should remove the JAVA_HOME on system level (that is not acceptable) or always create a dedicated user for ES service (and set JAVA_HOME on user level) => overhead in most cases. The simplest solution would be adding a config file to elasticsearch.exe, and letting you configure a custom java path there, that would be checked first.

Hey @mesztam, it sounds like you're using the Windows MSI installer, based on the installation of an elasticsearch.exe. The installer is configured to use the bundled JDK from version 7.3.0 onwards.

Prior 7.x versions of the installer require JAVA_HOME to be set at installation time, or for a version of Java to be detected in the registry. In these versions, it is possible to have elasticsearch.exe use the bundled JDK by

1. Installing Elasticsearch with the MSI, but not installing as a Windows service

2. updating JAVA_HOME to point to the location of the bundled JDK

3. Registering elasticsearch.exe as a Windows service with