Cisco IOS logging - help required

Hi,

I'm trying to ingest IOS switch logs into Elasticsearch, but I feel like I'm missing out on how this all works (I'm not a network engineer which may explain it!)

We're using Elastic cloud and Fleets Cisco IOS integration.

I think what needs to happen is:

1. Setup a syslog service on server A.

2. Configure Cisco device to send syslog data to server A.

3. Install the Cisco IOS integration on to Server A

4. Logs are collected and appear in Elasticsearch.

But I may have the wrong end of the stick with this. The Cisco IOS integration doesn't have many options, just the host and port.

Any help would be appreciated!

If the logs are being written to disk on server A via syslog, you’ll need to use the system integration to collect them, however they wouldn’t be processed in a very useful format with this method since they won’t go through the Cisco IOS specific processing logic. We do have efforts underway to support this type of collection, but we have not yet released this.

Alternatively you can configure the Cisco IOS integration running on Server A to connect directly to the Cisco device using host and port. Is this an option for you?

Hi Josh, Thanks for your reply.

Alternatively you can configure the Cisco IOS integration running on Server A to connect directly to the Cisco device using host and port. Is this an option for you?

How would I configure this? The Integration only seems to allow the setting of IP and port, which I thought meant locally on the server with the integration installed?

Currently I've configured it as follows:

1. Cisco device sends syslog data to Server A on port 514
  2. Server A has Cisco IOS integration installed, set to listen on localhost:514

Confirmed Server A listening on port 514:

COMMAND   PID USER   FD   TYPE  DEVICE SIZE/OFF NODE NAME
filebeat 2193 root   14u  IPv4 1755263      0t0  UDP localhost:syslog