Co-ordinating node JVM heap size increase

Hello,
I have a cluster of 3 master-eligible, data and ingest nodes and 2 co-ordinate only nodes. Running on version 6.8.6.
I created a Data Table visualisation with a Unique count of a field as a Metric and 2 sub-buckets that are Terms Aggregations (both with a size of 10) and I noticed for the first time, that the JVM heap on the co-ordinating nodes increased dramatically.
The query did target ~250 indices (1 shard, 1 replica per index) but I run wildcard queries like that all the time and never before had this affected the co-ordinating nodes. Is there an explanation for this?
Thank you.

Hey @kmousikos,

There are so many factors that can contribute to heap utilization, so it's pretty hard to say based on the information you provided.

Did the heap usage go down over time? It's not at all uncommon to see the heap utilization move over time. If you were to chart it, it often looks like a zig-zag pattern, where the usage increases for a while, and then suddenly falls when the JVM performs garbage collection:

Did this visualization appear to run slowly? If so, we can try to profile it to see if there is something expensive about the underlying query that we can optimize for. To do this, go to your visualization, and click on the inspect link at the top. Next, in the flyout that appears, view the Request, and copy the Elasticsearch query that it shows you.

Next, navigate to Kibana's Dev Tools, and paste the query into the Search Profiler. After clicking the Profile button, you'll be shown a breakdown of all the steps Elasticsearch had to take in order to fulfill the request, and how much time it spend in each phase.