Combining Events Based on Common session_id Field

Good afternoon, all! I first have to say I am very new to ElasticSearch, so I would appreciate some assistance here.

I have a firewall that sends a few different types of logs for the same event, but in a different category. For instance, if someone connects to a site of ours on port 443, I will see something similar to the following (truncated):

event_type: session_event
src_ip: x.x.x.x
src_port: 16864
src_interface: external
dst_ip: x.x.x.x
dst_port: 443
dst_interface: internal
session_id: 101906080442957

That is fine and dandy, but this does not show what the actual firewall did with the event. The firewall event is a separate log message resembling something like:

event_type: firewall_event
action: blocked
reason: ACL
session_id: 101906080442957

I would like to be able to search for (and display) the combined event details so I can not only see the source and destination details, but whether or not the connection was allowed or blocked by the firewall. All related events share a common "session_id" that I would think we could pivot on, but I am not sure how to do this. Any ideas?

Thank you all in advance for the assistance!

EDIT: To note... this is all in the same index.

Eric

@MakoWish

Are all your events, of both types (firewall and session) in the same index?

What you could do is make a data-table as a Kibana Visualization.

• use a terms-aggregation on session_id to split rows
  • add a top-hit metrics for all other fields you would like to see
    • src_ip
    • dst_ip
    • action

If you have a single ``session_event corresponding to a single firewall_event, it should produce a table where each row is a session-id with a column for each of those fields.

fwiw, this is a tough one using Elasticsearch, in the way that data is modeled.

Generally, how users approach this is that they denormalize the data at ingest-time by ensuring each individual document combines the events from both sources.