Configuring Filebeat to pack openresty/nginx logs and visualize in Kibana dashboards

I am totally new with the ELK stack and not really a sysadmin either, just a web developer trying to figure this out.

I have two droplets:

• one where I installed the ELK stack successfully to some extent (managed to visualize syslogs with the filebeat system module)
  • another where my openresty web server works. openresty is an nginx distribution.

I managed to configure filebeat in the openresty droplet to send the logs:

filebeat.inputs:
- type: log
  enabled: true
  paths:
    - /home/scheduler/logs/openresty/access.log
    - /home/scheduler/logs/openresty/error.log
  fields:
    type: nginx

# commented out Elasticsearch output
#output.elasticsearch:
output.logstash:
  hosts: ["<ELK_DROPLET_PUBLIC_IP>:5044"]

And in the ELK droplet I have this logstash configuration file:

input {
  beats {
    port => 5044
  }
}

output {
  elasticsearch {
    hosts => ["localhost:9200"]
    index => "openresty-logs-%{+YYYY.MM.dd}"
    pipeline => "openresty_log_type_pipeline"
  }
}

This works and I have even set up a pipeline through Kibana to classify access/error entries.

Now, I am trying to get the Kibana dashboards for nginx to work with my openresty logs but after much research and effort I have hit a wall.

I have enabled the nginx module in the openresty droplet:

sudo filebeat modules enable nginx

And configured the filebeat module to use the openresty logs:

# /etc/filebeat/modules.d/nginx.yml
- module: nginx
  access:
    var.paths: ["/home/scheduler/logs/openresty/access.log"]

error:
    var.paths: ["/home/scheduler/logs/openresty/error.log"]

ingress_controller:
    enabled: false

But I am not even sure if this is working. Is there a way to tell whether the nginx data is being shipped with filebeat to logstash in the other droplet? Modules are imported by default in the filebeat config.