Creating different indexes for different modules from filebeat

Hello, I'm very new to elk stack so please bear with me. I'm learning Elastic Stack from scratch and I have paid for and taken a few classes, but none of the classes I have gone through seem to go very in depth for the input configurations with beats. I have successfully configured cisco ios filebeats to ship to Elasticsearch, by following the built in instruction in kibana, however they always have the same index name. I would like to segregate the different cisco devices to have their own wildcard indexes. So instead of building a index of filebeat*, I would have 1 index be filebeat-cisco-ios* and another index be filebeat-cisco-asa*. If that is not possible, I would like be able to at least define different indexes by module.

I've done some research, and I'm not a coder by any means so a lot of this has been a crash course with me. From what I've read, I need to configure filebeat.inputs for this, which used to be called filebeat.prospectors. How would i do this. Does anyone have any examples by any chance.

Thanks in advance. If you need anything let me know and I will be sure to post it.

Hi @Lenny Welcome to the community and thanks for trying Elasticsearch

Before I attempt to answer the question I would like to ask a question.

What are you trying to accomplish, what is your actual goal for separating the indices?

To be more specific, what are the functional difference from your perspective of 1 index which is filtered by a field event.dataset vs 2 separate indices..

What if you never saw the actual indices would it make a difference? (elastic is slowly headed that way with data streams)

There are some reasons to do this, just curious what problem you are trying to solve....

the tl;dr is that you can ... absolutely can... but you are going to need properly configure a number of items, all aligned...