Datafeed [datafeed-packetbeat_dns_tunneling] cannot retrieve data because no index matches datafeed's indices [packetbeat-*]

Hi folks
I have been searching high and low regarding this error and I am very new to the ELK stack.

ELK 8.7.1, using Elastic Agents on clients.

When I try to enable the ML job packetbeat_dns_tunneling it fails with the above error messages.
In general every ML job that involves the packetbeat -* indices fails to be created/run.

I did add the packetbeat integration to a policy, deployed to + 50 agents and the index is there, but I am clueless now as what to do about the above error.

Can someone point me in a direction for further investigation here

Cheers

Hi guys

do I have to set the 'index: packetbeat' in the logstash configuration here ?

..... is there a 'fast lane' here for questions, we have an Enterprise License, but I would rather have everybody benefiting from this discussion/issue here.

Cheers

anyone ?

From what I can read from the documentation, an elastic agent will automatically create all the beats indexes automatically.

packetbeat-* is not created and hence my ML jobs fails (those involving packetbeat-*)

so what todo here ?

my 2 logstash servers in front of elasticsearch have the input filter elastic_agent specified and the elasticsearch output filter have the data_stream => true (+ ssl, apikey etc.)

can someone help me troubleshoot this, where to begin :man_shrugging:.
:face_with_monocle:

You really should open a support ticket.

This forum is certainly not a fast lane. It might be sometimes but other times not... There are no SLAs here :slight_smile:

Can you show the index? Just because it index is there does not mean the data is in it.

Second, I think you're leaving out some key pieces. It sounds like you're trying to use agent through logstash. Is that correct?

If so, you need to share your agent configuration and logstash configuration?

Find and show where you believe the packetbeat data is ending up.