Date data type and time for kibana

Hi all experts, I'm a beginner of this new techonolgy. I've some doubt about data type:
I used the data like this and using python for interacting I manage to use this script to incorporate data+ time in order to be coherent with the shape of data for elasticseach client

dt_string=data['DATE']+" "+data['TIME']
    timestamp=datetime.datetime.strptime(dt_string,'%m/%d/%y %H:%M:%S')
    # '04/30/18'+'14:25:40'

Then I insert this information into a json file in order to build a document for inserting it into to an index. When I go on kibana the value of timestamp is recognize as a date form as you can see for the below representation of a snapshot of data. The problem is that with this type of data I can't able to use in any kind of graph/plot. It 's like kibana software is not able to recognize it.
DATE: 04/25/18 DATE.keyword: 04/25/18 TIME: 10:14:03 TIME.keyword: 10:14:03 TIMESTAMP: Apr 25, 2018 @ 12:14:03.000
-Is there a way to incorporate time data in the sense modify it from string to time in order to makes some experiment for plotting data based on time?
Thanks

Check your index mappings, your field appears to be a [keyword]
(Keyword type family | Elasticsearch Guide [7.12] | Elastic) type, while you want it to be mapped as date.

Take a look at the docs :point_up: to see different examples of formats accepted to insert date documents and probably quite interesting for your use case, specify formats directly in the type mapping.

Thanks but I've a doubt about documentation you've posted. I need to specify the value that I would like to modify right? Suppose that I would like to modify TIME using keyword as suggeste by documentation. What I need to insert into dev tools console?

PUT my-index-000001
{
  "mappings": {
    "properties": {
      "TIME": {
        "type": "date" 
      }
    }
  }
}