Dec 13th, 2017: [EN][Beats]Moving to the Beat: Filebeat config updates in 6.x

Moving to the Beat: Filebeat config updates in 6.x

Hi everyone :wave:! I am relatively new to the Elastic. Consequently, a good portion of my time has been devoted to shoring up my knowledge, filling the gaps between self-taught and formally trained. I found this information along the way about one of my favorite Elastic Utilities: Filebeat.

By design, Filebeat is simple to configure and lightweight. Want to ship some logs? No problem, here's how you set it up:

filebeat.prospectors:
- type: log
  paths:
    - /var/log/nginx/access.log*
  exclude_files: ['\.gz$']

- type: log
  paths:
    - /var/log/messages
    - /var/log/*.log

It's not especially glamorous, it gets the job done and moves log data. If you want to get rich data, it needs to cycle through Logstash to be interpreted. But, I found out I can make the setup process easier!

I ran into the Filebeat modules when I was re-familiarizing myself with 5.X (ironically just weeks before the 6.0 release) and loved how simple it was to set up shipping of some common logs to Elasticsearch and load basic dashboards to get started on a new project quickly.

First, set up your dashboards (this uses your output setting for Elasticsearch in filbeat.yml, you'll receive an error if this is incorrect or missing):

$ ./filebeat -e -modules=nginx -setup

That automatically configures sample dashboards for the nginx module, so it only needs to be run once for the module dashboards you want to load. Then you can configure the modules through the config file in the future:

filebeat.modules:
- module: nginx