Document error "Recovery Settings"?

Hi!

I am now studying for elasticsearch and reading the definitive guide on-line.
While I was reading the document, I came across to a part where there seems to be a contradiction.

In "Production Deployment" -> "Important Configuration Changes" -> "Recovery Setting",
https://www.elastic.co/guide/en/elasticsearch/guide/master/important-configuration-changes.html

Sentences are trying to set 8 for expected nodes.

What this means is that Elasticsearch will do the following:

Wait for eight nodes to be present
Begin recovering after 5 minutes or after ten nodes have joined the cluster, whichever comes first.

However, in the sample configuration it is setting 10

gateway.expected_nodes: 10
gateway.recover_after_time: 5m

Is my understanding wrong?
If I am correct, I am happy to amend and make proposal in git hub.

Thanks,
Yu

1 Like

Hello Yu,

There are 3 settings at play here:

gateway.recover_after_nodes: 8
gateway.expected_nodes: 10
gateway.recover_after_time: 5m

So why bother with the recover_after_nodes if you also have the expected_nodes set for it to wait for anyway you ask?
This is where the recover_after_time setting comes in.

With these 3 settings configured as above, recovery will commence after one of the two following scenarios is met:

either:

a) 10 expected nodes are present
or
b) at least 8 nodes are present in the cluster and 5 minutes has elapsed since cluster start.

Why?

This allows you to recover immediately if all 10 nodes come back within 5 minutes OR allows you to start recovery if something is wrong with a couple of nodes but you have at least 8.