"does not contain any of the following compatible field types: ip"

How can I define IP? Accually I have both, IPv4 and IPv6, but looks like in Kibana can I use CIDR notation for IPv4 only, what in fact is fine. But my field name is like "layers.ip.ip_src" and I am goting error:

The index pattern pcap-* does not contain any of the following compatible field types: ip

I am using logstash config as in article Analyzing network packets with Wireshark, Elasticsearch, and Kibana | Elastic Blog

I guess that I need somehow define it in logstash, that field X is ip, but how? I am new in logstash (and in fact kibana and elastic too).

Hi,

It looks like your index mapping does not have the correct type.

You have to use the index template as said in the article. Simply upload the template through the console in dev tools in Kibana and configure filebeat with the same name it should work just fine.

I am using logstash without mapping, mapping is generated automatic.

Can I define ip field in logstash config? How?

Hi,
It appears that you aren't using the template and so the mapping created with your index is incorrect.

First of all you'll have to stop log ingestion ( logstash ). Then in order to change data types you'll have to either delete the existing index and or create a new one.

When you're ready to create your index use the developpers tools in Kibana menu and open the console.

When you're ready you can copy paste the actual code in the article

PUT _template/packets
{
  "template": "packets-*",
  "mappings": {
    "pcap_file": {
      "dynamic": "false",
      "properties": {
        "timestamp": {
          "type": "date"
        },
        "layers": {
            "frame": {
                "frame_frame_len": {
                  "type": "long"
                },
                "frame_frame_protocols": {
                  "type": "keyword"
                }
              }
            },
            "ip": {
                "ip_ip_src": {